Aransas County Historical Commission

Saturday, January 24, 2015 Commissioners Courtroom, Aransas County Courthouse

Chair Jackson declared an open meeting at 11:22 AM and determined that a quorum was present.

A motion was made by Betty Stiles and seconded by Sally Reynolds for the minutes of December 9 to be approved as written. The motion passed.

The treasurer reported that the CHC account was minus \$60 for 2014. The budget for 2015 is \$8,000. Pam Stranahan moved and Kam Wagert seconded that the report be accepted. The motion passed.

Under old business, Sally Reynolds submitted the recommendations of the committee for revisions to the Bylaws that would put the CHC in compliance with the state laws (attached). These revisions will be voted on at the next regular meeting.

A question was raised about the length of terms since one change in the Bylaws is for historical commissioners to be nominated in odd years only. It was determined that those appointed in 2013 - Jackson, Kieffer and Stiles and those appointed in 2015 - Camehl, Bywater and Harrison met the criteria. Others appointed in 2014 Angell, Close, Garcia, Gribble, Johnston, Reynolds, Stranahan, Thompson, and Wagert would submit letters (email) of resignation to chair Jackson then be reappointed for 2015. For any resignation, the CHC may recommend a replacement to be approved by the Commissioners Court. This will be done at the special called meeting next week.

For new business the nominating committee submitted a slate of officers: chair, Collin Jackson; vice-chair Sally Reynolds; secretary Linda Garcia; and treasurer, Letha Kieffer. Gail Johnston moved and Carol Thompson seconded to elect the slate by acclamation. The motion carried.

The commissioners set dates for future meetings. A special meeting will be called to recommend historical commissioners on Friday, January 30 at 10 AM at the courthouse. Additional meetings will be April 15, 5:00 PM at the History Center; July 15, 5:00 PM at the History Center; and Oct. 21, 5:00 PM at the History Center.

Pam Stranahan moved that the meeting be adjourned with a second by Kam Wagert. The motion carried.

Minutes submitted by Pam Stranahan